Theological Reflection – Spring 2024

Every Friday, I accompany Brother Sinh Nguyen on visits to give Holy Communion to patients at Midstate Medical Center in Meriden. This field education has provided me with valuable experiences and has also served as an opportunity for me to learn and prepare for my future service mission.

Every week, we administer Holy Communion to approximately 50-60 patients. Consequently, one of the initial lessons I learned was the importance of patience and attentive listening. Each patient presents unique circumstances, battling different illnesses and undergoing varied treatments. Some individuals grapple with sadness and negative thoughts in the face of illness, while others remain optimistic and accepting. Some find solace in their faith, feeling united with Jesus on his journey of suffering. Some people think that God is unfair and cruel for letting them get sick. Some patients find comfort in the presence of caring relatives, while others endure their illnesses alone. Therefore, despite the need to attend to numerous patients, we need to remain patient, empathetic, and supportive, lending a compassionate ear to their concerns and offering solace whenever possible.

The second thing I need to cultivate is to generously sacrifice my time when visiting each patient. The number of patients we need to visit is very large, and time is limited, so we need to generously sacrifice our time. I admire DCN. Dan never looks at his watch every time he visits a patient, and never picks up his phone during that time. If I rush and do not want to spend time with each patient, I will not be able to fulfill the mission entrusted to me.

When visiting the sick, I carry within me the sentiments of the Virgin of Mary when visiting Elizabeth. Like Mary, who brought comfort and assistance to Elizabeth in her old age, I bring God’s presence and support to those who are unwell. Following Mary’s example, I approach this field of education with joy and enthusiasm.

Just as Jesus always cared for and healed the sick, both physically and mentally, I also need to learn the lesson of caring and listening to the sick people I am sent to visit. This lesson prepared me to serve everyone, especially those who are suffering, ill, or in need.

In summary, my experience in hospital field education has taught me patience, empathy, and a generous spirit towards patients. These lessons will greatly benefit me in my future mission.

Bình luận về bài viết này